The All-Ireland winners for the Community & Council Awards 2018 presented by IPB Insurance and LAMA (Local Authority Members Association) have been announced; the finalists represented their counties in Croke Park for the first time on Saturday 3rd February 2018. For twelve years these awards have grown in popularity nationwide, celebrating communities and councils working together but for the first time the event moved to Croke Park for the All Ireland final and was aptly hosted by RTÉ’s national treasure, sports commentator, Marty Morrissey.

Best Arts/Culture Initiative

Winner Westport 250 (Mayo County Council)

Silver Award Ballyogan Festival (Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown County Council)

Best Business Working with the Community (Sponsored by An Post)

Winner Lilly Kinsale Manufacturing (Cork County Council)

Silver Award Creacon Wellness Retreat (Wexford County Council)

Best Community Based Initiative

Winner Centenary Commemorations (Cork County Council)

Silver Award Singing for the Community by the Community (Roscommon County Council)

Best Community Health Initiative

Winner It’s For Girls (Mayo County Council)

Silver Award Naas Neighbourhood Greenway (Kildare County Council)

Best Community Sports Team/Club

Winner Shankill Tennis Club – Community Tennis for All (Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown County Council)

Silver Award Doora Barefield Community Games (Clare County Council)

Best Connected Council

Winner (Limerick County Council)

Silver Award Donegal Gathering (Donegal County Council)

Best Disability Access & Inclusion Initiative

Winner A Minute Matters Disabled Parking Awareness Campaign (Monaghan County Council)

Silver Award Let’s Able not Label (Tipperary County Council)

Best Education/Training Initiative

Winner I WISH (Cork City Council)

Best Educational Building

Winner Gaelscoil Iarfhlatha (Galway County Council)

Best Energy Smart Initiative (Sponsored by Eirgrid)

Winner Housing Fabric Upgrade Program Phase One (Cork City Council)

Best Heritage Project

Winner Malahide Castle & Gardens (Fingal County Council)

Silver Award The Round Tower – Brú Chrónáin (South Dublin County Council)

Best Irish Language Initiative

Winner Pop-up Gaeltacht Comhairle na nÓg an Chabháin (Cavan County Council)

Best Local Authority Innovation for Attracting Inward Investment

Winner Limerick 2030 Economic & Spatial Plan (Limerick County Council)

Silver Award Grange Castle Business Park (South Dublin County Council)

Best Public Building (Sponsored by GeoDirectory)

Winner National Gallery of Ireland Refurbishment of Historic Wings (Dublin City Council)

Special Recognition Award

Winner Louth County Council for Innovation in Social Housing and Community

Best Tourism Initiative (Sponsored by Fáilte Ireland)

Winner Waterford Greenway (Waterford County Council)

Silver Award Bray Air Display (Wicklow County Council)

Community Volunteer of the Year

Winner Bob Gilbert (Cavan County Council)

Silver Award Tommy Keogh (South Dublin County Council)

National Impact Award

Winner National Gallery of Ireland Refurbishment of Historic Wings (Dublin City Council)

Council of the Year (Sponsored by IPB Insurance)

Winner Mayo County Council

Grand Prix Award (Sponsored by IPB Insurance)

Winner Waterford Greenway (Waterford County Council)

Full Press Release
Download Winners PDF